Forums

Unknown Seeds from the inside of a snake

Seed ID Forum Seed ID Forum Seed Morphology and Identification Unknown Seeds from the inside of a snake

This topic contains 3 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  ID00000564d058b9a90cb8e16bce5351da67a863c0bb213a7 1 year ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

Hello!

I am a PhD student at the University of Florida in the US. I am studying the invasive Burmese Python in the Florida Everglades, and keep finding seeds in their gut contents (assumedly from cheek pouches and stomachs of the critters they are consuming) I would love some help identifying these seeds and tried the ID guide, but I didn’t see any matches.

Attachments:
    You must be logged in to view attached files.

Hello Kate,

I think this is an interesting project in an important ecosystem!

I have some ideas to the identity of these seeds. Since the surface and fine details are a bit unclear, please check out seed images online to see if they are a match. Let us know what you find out!

IMG_1605 – Cladium jamaicense, Cyperaceae
    12Nov19 – Sphagneticola trilobata, Asteraceae
    21Nov16 – Melothria pendula, Cucurbitaceae

Thank you, Jennifer

Hello,

I am so sorry for my delayed response—the email notifications went to my junk mail!

I ended up taking the seeds into the herbarium at the univserity and using the seed bank and you were spot on Jennifer! Incredible. I am very impressed.

I don’t know if you’d be interested in possibly collaborating further, I have a friend studying invasive Tegus in the same area and she is finding a ton of seed variety in their guts–both of us are always looking for experts to help us out! My email is Ka.Davis@ufl.edu if you’d like to discuss further.

Thanks again,

Kate

Hello,

That’s great that you found a resource to check your seeds, and thank you for your feedback!